What does a love bug look like?

Lovebugs are small black flies with a dull, somewhat velvety appearance, except that the top of the thorax (the area immediately behind the head) is red. Males are 6-7 mm, and females are 6-9 mm in length and vary considerably in size as males weigh 6 to 10 mg and females 15 to 25 mg.