What is the gallagher effect?

A weekly news special about Chief Edward Gallagher who was found not guilty of murdering a suspected ISIS prisoner in Iraq. The decorated Navy SEAL had been accused of stabbing the wounded teenage captive, as well as attempted murder of Iraqi civilians and obstruction of justice.