How does a chicken lay an egg?

Your hens lay eggs through their cloaca, or what we call the vent. While eggs exit through the same vent used for everything a chicken excretes, the tissue of the uterus extends with the egg (a sort of inside-out trick) until the egg is entirely out of the vent.