What was the first pacifier made of?

Way back they were rags with food inside you can see one held by the baby in a famous madonna & child painting by Albrecht Dürer in 1506. In the early 1900s pacifiers started popping up for sale they were rubber nipples and called teething rings, comforters, elastic teething rings etc