Why do humans have tonsils?

The tonsils are part of the lymphatic system, which helps to fight infections. They are part of the immune system, and serve as the first line of defense against ingested or inhaled foreign pathogens, and as such frequently engorge with blood to assist in immune responses to common illnesses.