What's the difference between straw and hay?

Straw is a stalk, usually a waste product of wheat, that's used as bedding for barnyard animals. Hay—typically alfalfa or a grass—is used as animal feed. ... Straw and hay both begin life the same way—as a field crop. The word 'hay' refers to the entire harvested plant, including the seed heads.