What's the difference between straw and hay?

Straw is a stalk, usually a waste product of wheat, that's used as bedding for barnyard animals. Hay—typically alfalfa or a grass—is used as animal feed. ... Straw and hay both begin life the same way—as a field crop. The word 'hay' refers to the entire harvested plant, including the seed heads.

---

Hay is a grass crop that is grown and harvested to feed cattle, horses and other farm animals. Straw is a plant stalk by-product of a crop after a plant has been harvested. After wheat is harvested, straw can be cut from the field and used in various ways such as bedding for farm animals.