How does chlorophyll work?

Chlorophyll is a green pigment found in the mesosomes of cyanobacteria, as well as in the chloroplasts of algae and plants. Its name is derived from the Greek words khloros ("pale green") and phyllon ("leaf"). Chlorophyll is essential in photosynthesis, allowing plants to absorb energy from light.

---

Chlorophyll's job in a plant is to absorb light—usually sunlight. The energy absorbed from light is transferred to two kinds of energy-storing molecules. ... Chlorophyll gives plants their green color because it does not absorb the green wavelengths of white light.