What is the highest number we have a name for?

The largest number with a name (excluding 'infinity' which is not really a number) is the 'googolplex'. The term googol was first coined in 1929 by Edward Kasner supposedly when he asked his nephew to give a name to the number 10 to the power of 100 (or 1 followed by 100 zeroes).