What causes the wind?

When the sun shines, it heats the Earth unequally. Some parts are hotter, others are colder. Hot air is less dense (creating a low pressure system) and cold air is more dense (making a high pressure system). Air will move from high pressure to low pressure, and this moving air is wind.

---

The difference in pressure between two air masses causes the wind to form as high pressure moves toward low pressure.