What is the biggest horse in the world?

The tallest and heaviest horse on record was a Shire gelding named Sampson (aka Mammoth). The horse was bred by Thomas Cleaver of Toddington Mills, Bedfordshire, UK, and in 1850 he stood at 7 feet 2 1/2 inches tall and weighed a stunning 3,359 pounds.