Who invented the caramel apple?

Caramel apples were invented in the 1950s. The creator, Dan Walker, was a sales representative working for Kraft Foods. Kraft Foods, who also sold small individually wrapped caramels, continues to print the recipe for caramel apples on the backs of their caramel bags.