How many galapagos turtles are left in the world?

It is estimated that 20,000–25,000 wild tortoises live on the islands today. Two centuries of exploitation resulted in the loss of between 100,000 to 200,000 tortoises. Three species have been extinct for some time, and a fourth species lost its last member, Lonesome George, in June of 2012.