What weighs more a pound of gold or a pound of feathers?

This is a trick question. The feathers weigh more. Gold is measured in Troy weight. There are 480 grains in a Troy Oz. and 12 Troy ozs to a Troy pound or 5,760 grains. The feathers are measured in the Avoirdupois system with 437.5 grains per oz. 16 ozs. to the pound or 1 pound equals 7000 grains.

---

A pound of feathers weighs more. Gold in measured in Troy weight A Troy pound is 12 Troy ounces or about 373 grams. Feathers are measured in Avoirdupois weight. An Avoirdupois pound is 16 Avoirdupois ounces or about 454 grams. So using standard units, a pound of feathers is heavier.