Where is young hoku from?

Koo was born in Seoul, to Seungmae Choi and Hyunseo Koo. He attended sixth grade in the United States after moving to New Jersey to live with his mother, who had gone to the country two years earlier to become a nurse while Koo's father remained in Seoul as a university professor.