Is a orca a whale?

Yes. Orca are the largest member of oceanic dolphin, which are part of the toothed whale family. The toothed whale family comprises all whales possessing teeth. In addition to Orca, members of this family include Sperm whales, Pilot Whales, and Beluga whales.