What is phosphoric acid used for?

According to Orenda, phosphoric acid is most commonly used as a metal and mineral sequestering agent. Phosphoric or phosphonic acid is a phosphate-based substance that binds with metals and minerals to prevent oxidation and carbonation. It is added to drinking water to protect pipes from corrosion.

---

Phosphoric acid is a weak acid with the chemical formula H3PO4. It is used by the body to make DNA and RNA, it is also used to make soap, cleaning products and toothpaste.