Who created the g. o. p. elephant?

The Republican Party Elephant icon was born in the imagination of cartoonist Thomas Nast and first appeared in Harper’s Weekly on November 7, 1874. The elephant originates from the Civil War era expression “seeing the elephant” which was used by soldiers to mean experiencing combat.