What caused the edmund fitzgerald to sink?

Its believed that modifications to ship's winter load line, to allow the Edmund Fitzgerald to carry heavier loads and sail lower in the water, may have caused a stress fracture to form in the ship's hull. The storm that the ship encountered could have caused the fracture to break apart and sink