How do you get stains out of a white shirt?

According to In Style, "Mix 1 tsp laundry detergent, baking soda, and cold water to make a paste together in a cup. Dip a washcloth in the solution and rub the spot. If the stain is difficult, soak the shirt overnight in a solution containing ¼ cup hydrogen peroxide, vinegar, and baking soda."