How does grass get made?

At the base of the grass plant, roots grow down into the earth. Typically, grass roots are fibrous, or threadlike. They extend into the soil, collecting nutrients, soaking up water and securing the plant to the ground. Grass stems, called culms, grow up from the base of the plant (the crown).