How long can the brain go without oxygen?

Brain cells are very sensitive to lack of oxygen. Some brain cells start dying in less than 5 minutes after their oxygen supply disappear. As a result brain hypoxia can rapidly cause severe brain damage or death. When the flow is completely cut off consciousness will be lost within 10 seconds.