What's the difference between a janitor and a custodian?

Janitors primarily clean buildings at a set time. Custodians are caretakers that not only clean, but also provide maintenance functions.

---

In general, a custodian is someone who takes care of or is in charge of the same building or property at any given time of the day. A janitor comes to a location specifically to clean at a set time, typically either morning or nighttime.