Why does mold grow on cheese?

Mold grows on cheese when it is placed in a badly ventilated or moist area. Mold spores are airborne all around us, invisible to the naked eye. And if one spore makes it onto a piece of cheese, it can begin to reproduce rapidly and feed off of the cheese