How high can sonic jump?

Without variable jump heights, Sonic’s jump last exactly 1 second and 100 pixels high if you keep the jump button held until he reaches the apex of his trajectory. Sonic is one of the first games that allows variable jump height so Sonic’s jumps are determined by when you release the button.