What is gibbs rule number one?

Gibbs actually has two #1 rules. First mentioned in season one, episode one of NCIS, Gibbs rule #1, is never let suspects sit together. In season four, episode 14 of NCIS, Gibbs mentions rule #1, as never screw over your partner. This rule is to emphasize always having your partner’s back.