What is a wife beater shirt?

A sleeveless white ribbed undershirt in a tank style generally worn by men. Both sexes commonly wear them now in fashion colors, but they’re mainly known from the 60’s and earlier for being worn by mostly blue collar male workers depicted in films as wife beaters, alcoholics and often violent.