What is the designated hitter rule?

The designated hitter rule allows teams to use another player to bat in place of the pitcher. If the Designated Hitter is later used on defense, he continues to bat in his regular spot. But for the rest of the game, his team cannot use a DH to bat in place of the pitcher.