Who built the easter island heads?

The most common theory for the origin of the statues on Easter Island is that they were sculpted by a now-extinct group of people who had settled the island from the west. However, there is no empirical proof that any human set foot on the island prior to Jacob Roggeveen's discovery in 1722.