Why are they called ivy league schools?

There are a number of theories about the origins of the term “Ivy League,” including a widely-circulated one that attributes it to an 1890s alliance among Harvard, Princeton, Yale and Penn known as the “I V league,” after the Roman numerals I followed by V, which represents 4.