How long did it take to build the mackinaw bridge?

Construction on the Mackinac Bridge began on May 7, 1954. It opened to traffic on schedule on November 1, 1957; 3 years, 5 months, and 25 days later. The bridge was formally dedicated on June 25, 1958.