Why do people have freckles?

Melanin is a chemical made by skin cells called "melanocytes." People with fair complexions have less melanin in their skin to start with. When sunlight causes their melanocytes to make more melanin, they often develop freckles instead of getting an even suntan like people with darker complexions.