Do fireflies like light?

Fireflies glow for two reasons: to warn predators to stay away (their blood is toxic) and, more importantly, to attract a mate. ... Bright outdoor lights can outshine fireflies' tiny lanterns, interfering with mating behavior, so lend fireflies a hand by flipping off the switch at night.