Why is horseradish hot?

The “hotness” from horseradish comes from isothiocyanate, a volatile compound that, when oxidized by air and saliva, generates the “heat” that some people claim clears out their sinuses. The bite and aroma of the horseradish root are almost absent until it is grated or ground.