Why do they put babies in king cakes?

This is the only hold over from what had been included in the filling of king cakes. Traditionally a variety of small objects, including coins, crosses, and beads. Each of the items symbolize the kind of luck the person receiving it would have for the year. The baby was the symbol of the best luck.