What was the first mission to space?

The first satellite, Sputnik 1, was launched from the USSR on Oct 4, 1957. The first human, Yuri Gagarin, also from the USSR, on April 12 1961. [On May 5, 1961 Alan Shephard from the USA made a 15 minute sub-orbital flight. Then Pres. John F. Kennedy declared that the U.S. would go to the moon!]