What's the longest football game ever played?

Dolphins vs Chiefs in 1971 On that occasion, the two sides had to go to double overtime and they recorded the longest ever NFL game time of 82 minutes and 40 seconds. A back-and-forth second half meant that the game finished 24-24, requiring overtime to determine a winner.