Why do dogs like squeakers?

I asked my dog and she didn't answer. I think they like them because squeakers provide instant feedback - the dog bites, the toy squeaks. It could also be that squeakers sound like a frightened small animal and that triggers prey drive. That could explain why dogs like to kill squeaky toys so often.