What size house is considered a mansion?

Charlie Cheever of quora.com writes, "Technically, realtors term mansions as houses that have at least 8,000 square feet of floor space." Merriam-Webster's dictionary definition is less definitive, simply stating that a mansion is "a large and impressive house: the large house of a wealthy person."