What is stretch resolution?

Stretched resolution is lowering the aspect ratio to have the game be distorted along the X-axis. The default resolution is 16:9 (1920 x 1080), so twice as many pixels on the X-axis as the Y-axis. The advocates for stretching resolution play on ratios like 4:3 (1440 x 1080) or 5:3 (1600 x 1080).