How often do you water a violet?

It is perhaps the most pondered African violet dilemma. The best guide is to feel the top of the soil: if it is dry to the touch, then it is time to water. African violets should be allowed to dry out between each watering for best results. Overwatering can kill a plant.

---

Water a violet from the bottom with room temperature water by placing the plastic grower's pot in water, and allowing the plant to absorb the water for no longer than 30 minutes. Special care should be taken not to water the leaves as they will spot.