Why do they call them hotdogs?

Since the early 1800s, Germans had sausages they called "dachsunds" (from the shape of the animal) or "klinehunds" (little-dogs). When Germans began migrating the the US in large numbers in the mid-19th century, they brought their food with them, and the name got Anglecized to "hot dog".