What's the difference between potato starch and corn starch?

Corn starch is a grain starch and potato starch is a root starch. Both starches will produce a thickened liquid that is clearer than liquids thickened with wheat flour; however, potato starch will be the clearer of the two. Liquids thickened with corn starch will still be slightly opaque.