What causes a rainbow?

A rainbow is caused by sunlight and atmospheric conditions. Light enters a water droplet, slowing down and bending as it goes from air to denser water. The light reflects off the inside of the droplet, separating into component wavelengths or colors. When light exits the droplet, it makes a rainbow.