What is a green flashing lightning?

Green or turquoise flashes of light in the sky that linger, pulse, or change colors is usually caused by electrical arcing from shorted-out power lines. ... When lightning strikes an energized power line, an electrical flashover arc can result, making what appears to be green lightning.