Who owns the cape verdi islands?

The Cape Verdi Islands comprise the Republic of Cabo Verdi, spelled v e r d e, a small nation in the central Atlantic Ocean off the coast of Africa, consisting of 10 volcanic islands with a combined land area of about 4000 square kms. Cape Verdi gained its independence from Portugal in 1975.

---

After being under Portuguese rule for over 500 years, in 1975, The Republic of Cabo Verde became the 44th independent nation of Africa. It is an archipelago and island country in the central Atlantic Ocean, approximately 570 kilometers (350 mi) off the western coast of the African continent.