How did chernobyl happen?

The accident happened during a safety test. The test supervisor failed to follow procedure, creating unstable operating conditions that, combined with the inherent RBMK reactor design flaws and the intentional disabling of several safety systems, resulted in an uncontrolled nuclear chain reaction.