What does the omega thirteen do?

In the comedy movie Galaxy Quest, Jason activates the "Omega 13", a secret superweapon on the Protector that had never been used and never had its capabilities explained. It causes a 13-second time warp to the past, giving Jason and Mathesar the chance to disarm Sarris before he attacks.