When did the first train run?

A basic form of the railway, the rutway, existed in ancient Greek and Roman times. The first overground railway line in England may have been a wooden-railed, horse-drawn tramroad which was built at Prescot, near Liverpool, around 1600 and possibly as early as 1594.