Is ringworm an actual worm?

Ringworm is actually an infection caused by a fungus and not a worm.

---

Ringworm is not a worm but a fungal infection most commonly spread through close contact with an infected person or animal, or contact with infected objects such as bedsheets, hair brushes or towels.