Why do eyes get bloodshot?

Eyes can becomes bloodshot and red due to allergies, medical conditions like conjunctivitis or circulatory issues, injury to the eye, or medications/drug use. The redness is caused by the fine network of capillaries in the eye swelling and making the white of the eye, called the sclera, red.